If This War Will Ever End


Simon Urquhart

Leading up to the 70th anniversary of the end of World War II the NS Orchestra and Toonkunstkoor Utrecht will perform a unique concert around Memorial Day 2015 on 1,2+3 May, at the Railway Museum, giving reflection on this time in our history.  You may also have seen the article on the “Joods Monument” that is to be unveiled at the Museum.

The concerts will show a heartfelt tribute to the people who suffered, but also a call to prevent another occurrence. We have Freedom, but it does not remain by itself!

Built around the Requiem for Man and the Mauthausen Song Cycle, these compositions are for large choir and orchestra with instrumental interludes that include Schindler’s List and Hymn to the Fallen. The English lyrics are about war, peace, death, fear, hope, and a tribute to all those who have suffered.

A concert that reverberates through every fibre of your body and lingers. With the Railway as a backdrop and a special staging this is a concert not to be missed.

Requiem for Man by Rob Goorhuis, is a composition for mixed choir and orchestra dealing with the four major wars of the last century: the First and Second World Wars, the war in Cambodia and the war in the former Yugoslavia. The composition is based on texts by André van Zwieten.

The Mauthausen Song Cycle was written by the Greek composer, Theodorakis and is based on the life story of Lakovos Kambaellis who was imprisoned in Mauthausen concentration camp during World War II. The songs were translated in 1968 by Lenneart Nijgh and still sung by Liesbeth List. This project has a new arrangement written by Rob Goorhuis.

The programme:

  • Antarctica (Carl Wittrock)
  • Requiem for Man (Rob Goorhuis)
  • Song for Sakiko (Bert Appermont)
  • Esther (Rogier van Otterlo)
  • Prima Luce (Jan van der Roost)
  • Schindler’s List (John Williams) with soloist: Ilka van der Plas (violin)
  • Hymn to the Fallen (John Williams)
  • Mauthausen Lieder (Mikis Theodorakis / Rob Goorhuis)

Date and times:
Friday, 1 May 2015
Saturday, 2 May 2015
Sunday, 3 May 2015

(commencement 20:00 doors open 19:30)

Tickets:                        € 15.00 (Ticket sales start in February 2015)

For more information:  www.nsharmonie.nl